2021 Rockhopper Elite - Replace Stout to FC-M5100 Deore

anowak

Hi,

I am new to all this crankset talk, but been trying to understand how it all fits together.

I'd like to replace the existing Stout 1x, forged alloy (which is broken), to a Shimano FC-M5100-1 (EFCM51001EXA0) Deore, 30t, 175mm and BB-MT501 Bottom Bracket. Rockhopper Elite BB is 73mm - so good with Bottom Bracket part.

All was looking fairly straight forward, until I read about chainline. Unfortunately I cannot find any information about what the 2021 Rockhopper Elite chainline is with existing configuration? Shimano clear state that the FC-M5100-1 chainline is 52mm,
Also states that it will support 135 mm, 142 mm and 148 mm O.L.D. Frames.

My question is, can I simply replace my crankset without stuffing around with spaces on the chainring?

Solution
Hi,

I am new to all this crankset talk, but been trying to understand how it all fits together.

I'd like to replace the existing Stout 1x, forged alloy (which is broken), to a Shimano FC-M5100-1 (EFCM51001EXA0) Deore, 30t, 175mm and BB-MT501 Bottom Bracket. Rockhopper Elite BB is 73mm - so good with Bottom Bracket part.

All was looking fairly straight forward, until I read about chainline. Unfortunately I cannot find any information about what the 2021 Rockhopper Elite chainline is with existing configuration? Shimano clear state that the FC-M5100-1 chainline is 52mm,

My...
Hi,

My question is, can I simply replace my crankset without stuffing around with spaces on the chainring?

Hi and welcome to the BikeGremlin forum,

Short answer:
It should work fine.

Explanation:

There are several things to consider here:
  • Does the Shimano FC-M5100-1 crank fit bicycles with 73 mm wide bottom bracket shell?
    As far as I know, it does - and that is OK.
  • Does the Shimano BB-MT501 fit 73 mm BB shell?
    Yes, that is good to.
With that out of the way, let's see about the chainline.
Modern shimano MTB Shimano chainlines are usually: